2019 Student Award Competition

2018_JSR_Scholarship Flyer_Banner.png


Award:  $2,000

$1,000 will be dispensed upon notification of award with the remaining $1,000 to be received upon completion of the final project presentation in Denver, Colorado.

Award Judging Criteria:

  • Effective investigation of the subject matter

  • Illustration of best methods for improving the standards and practices of landscape architecture

  • Evidence of reflection and concern for environmental, cultural, historical and other contextual issues

  • Integration of both practical and aesthetic aspects of landscape architecture

  • Significance of the study/project to the Rocky Mountain Region

  • Creative or inventive solutions that challenge current accepted methods and means within design practice

Competition Topic Objective

The Student Award recognizes innovative student accomplishment in projects that reflect a positive impact on the Rocky Mountain Region and demonstrate a passion for preserving, improving and enhancing public spaces.


The competition is open to all students of an accredited landscape architecture program (BLA or MLA).  Only individual submissions will be accepted, and each student is permitted only one entry.  Collaborators and associates of members of the jury, and their relatives up to the third degree may not enter the competition.

Submissions must adhere to the following: 

  • Include a project title that indicates the nature of the project.

  • In 250 words or less, describe the project and how it meets the competition criteria. This statement may be used in promotional materials if the project is selected for an award.

  • Include a site plan, plus 5-10 drawings and/or photographs. All images must be 8.5x11” format and landscape orientation. Captions of no more than 50 words each are to be placed at the bottom of each image. If the project is selected for an award, high resolution images will be requested.

  • Only electronic submittals will be accepted. Please email completed projects in a single PDF file not to exceed 10MB and 10 pages to JSRScholarship@gmail.com. The first page on the PDF should be the declaration form. All associated text must be in English.

Submission Requirements

Competition Rules

  1. Participation in the competition implies unconditional acceptance of the competition rules. All competition entries are the property of the Jane Silverstein Ries Foundation. A selection of the works submitted by competition entrants will be placed on exhibit at various JSR Foundation events. The JSR Foundation retains the right of duplication and publication of any or all materials submitted to the competition and there shall be no obligation whatsoever to the entrants, beyond acknowledging the authorship of the works exhibited or published.

  2. Submissions received after the deadline date will not be admitted.

  3. The jury shall preside over the competition, and is the sole arbiter at all levels until the final attribution of the award. All decisions of the jury are final.

  4. The winner of the JSR Student Award Competition will be announced by the JSR Foundation president upon recommendation of the jury. Final award payment will be presented at the final award presentation in the Fall of 2019.

  5. Entrants may only ask questions to the appointed competition contact person, JSR Foundation Secretary, Ashley Corbett. Questions shall be in writing via email to acorbett@studio-insite.com and must be received by Saturday, June 15th 2019.


The competition submissions will be reviewed by board members of the Jane Silverstein Ries Foundation, members of the JSR Foundation Advisory Committee and invited guest jurors of ASLA Colorado. 

All submissions must be received by the JSR Foundation c/o JSRScholarship@gmail.com by Sunday, June 30 2019. 

Any submissions received after this date will not be eligible for the competition. 

Closing Date

Past JSR Student Award Winners


2017 JSR Scholarship Winner

JONATHAN STAKER | THE OHIO state university

The Colorado Big Thompson Water Trail + Field Guide

Catalyzing Collaboration for Colorado's Future Water Needs

Trans-mountain water diversions via the Colorado Big Thompson Project (CBT) supplement the needs of more than three quarters of a million people and more than 720,000 acres of irrigated farmland on the Eastern edge of the Rocky Mountains, in a region known as Colorado's Northern Front Range. With its vast network of diversion infrastructure such as dams, reservoirs, pumping plants, and pipelines, the
project represents one of the most unique and important engineering feats of the 20th century, moving water from one watershed into another. 

Constructed between 1938-1956 the project continues to provide vital water resources for continued growth within the historically dry and unpredictable Front Range climate. However, this project's fundamental significance and monumental scale largely goes unnoticed and unappreciated within the region that reaps its greatest benefits. In addition, water gaps predicted by the 2015 State Water Plan along with increasing regional climatic variability, threaten the system and the region it supports on many different levels.

To illuminate the many consequential environmental, social,and political effects that this project has had, and continues to embody, while simultaneously revealing how this system fits into a much larger water landscape, a cultural trail network and accompanying field guide are proposed. The trail and field guide serve as a comprehensive deconstruction of the many components and characteristics related to water
in the Front Range, past. present and future. The trail and field guide connect into CBT infrastructure through a series of significant moments know as "water makers," as a means of understanding micro and macro relationships related to water in the Front Range, the Western Slope, Colorado, and the American West.

JSR Scholarship Award Presentation at 2017 ASLA Colorado Annual Gathering - Recipient Jonathan Staker and JSR President Megan Jones Shiotani

Past Scholarship Winners

2017     Jonathan Staker (The Ohio State University)
2016     Elizabeth Philbrick (Colorado State University)
2015     Tucker Hancock (University of Colorado Denver)
2014     Kate Davenport (University of Colorado Denver)
2013     Xinyu Li (University of Colorado Denver)
2012     Matthew Annabel (University of Colorado Denver)
2011      Darren Duroux (Colorado State University)
2010     Michael T. Brown (Colorado State University)
2009    Yekaterina (University of New Mexico)
2007     Jenn Thomas (University of Colorado Denver)
2006     Megan French (Colorado State University)
2006     Pamela Cornelisse (University of Colorado Denver)
2005     Emily Goldman (Colorado State University)
2005     Brian Cook (Colorado State University)
2004     Maeve Nevins (Colorado State University)
2004     Laurie Stanton (University of Colorado Denver)
2003     Kaitlin Beatty (Colorado State University)
2003     Michael McConnell(University of Colorado Denver)
2002     Jessica Canfield (Colorado State University)
2002     Michael Bouchard (University of Colorado Denver)
2001      Ashley Corbett (Colorado State University)
2001      Thomas Sunderland (University of Colorado Denver))
2001      Yuka Yoshida (Colorado State University)